Wednesday, August 10, 2016

Prof. Levinson Re-elected as President of LA Ethics Commission

The Los Angeles Ethics Commission re-elected Professor Jessica Levinson as its president when it met on Tuesday, August 9.

From the LA Ethics Commission's official statement:

At its meeting today, the Ethics Commission re-elected Jessica Levinson as president and Serena Oberstein as vice president. Levinson and Oberstein will serve in these capacities for Fiscal Year 2016-2017.

Levinson is a clinical professor at Loyola Law School, where she teaches courses covering election law and campaign financing. She has also lectured on election law issues for various educational institutions and civic organizations. Previously, Levinson was the Director of Political Reform at the Center for Governmental Studies, where she researched and wrote reports on election laws, campaign finance laws, ballot initiatives, term limits, primary elections systems, and redistricting. She also authored an amicus curiae brief for the United States Supreme Court regarding the constitutionality of public campaign financing. Levinson was appointed by City Controller Ron Galperin to a five-year term ending June 30, 2018.

Oberstein is the Chief Operating Officer for Vision To Learn, which provides free eye exams and eyeglasses to students in low-income communities. She previously worked on policy issues in former Mayor Antonio Villaraigosa’s office, as well as for Partnership for Los Angeles Schools, New York City Small Business Services, and J Street. Oberstein also has experience working on campaigns for candidates running for City office. She holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in political science from the University of California, San Diego and a Master’s in Public Administration degree from New York University. Oberstein was appointed by City Council President Pro Tempore Mitchell Englander to a five-year term ending June 30, 2019.

The Ethics Commission is comprised of five individuals who serve staggered five-year terms. The Mayor, the City Attorney, the Controller, the City Council President, and the City Council President Pro Tem each have one appointment to the commission. The commissioners elect their own president and vice president each year. In addition to Levinson and Oberstein, [Loyola alumna] Ana Dahan, Melinda Murray, and Andrea Ordin also serve as commissioners.

No comments: